Alabama State Society of Anesthesiologists
P.O. Box 241453
Montgomery, AL 36124
(334) 954-2577 (voice)
(334) 269-5200 (fax)

Richard Carson, Executive Director email


Richard Carson, Executive Director
[email protected]
Alabama State Society of Anesthesiologists
P.O. Box 241453
Montgomery, AL 36124
(334) 954-2577 (voice)
(334) 269-5200 (fax)

STATE OFFICERS 2022 - 2024 

​Kurt Senn, M.D., President

[email protected]

3104 Blue Lake Drive, Suite 110

Birmingham, Alabama 35243


​Gary Bridges, D.O., President Elect
East Alabama Medical Center
Matt Sherrer, M.D. 
University of Alabama Birmingham
Suzi Blaylock, M.D., President 
P.O. Box 3449
Muscle Shoals, Al 35662



ASA Director for Alabama - Jennifer Dollar, M.D.
1600 7th Avenue South
Suite 420
Birmingham, Alabama 35233
ASA Alternate Director - Blair Smith, M.D.
[email protected]
UAB Medical Center
Birmingham, Alabama



I. Michael Lasecki, [email protected]

Anesthesia Services, PC
201 Cox Street
Mobile, AL 36604


II. Michael Weatherford, M.D., [email protected]

Anesthesia Consultants Medical Group, P.C.
1118 Ross Clark Circle, Ste 700
Dothan, AL 36301


III.  Arthur Boykin, M.D., [email protected]
Anesthesia Associates, PA,
PO Box 8305
Gadsden, AL 35999


IV. Robert Nesbitt, [email protected]
Cullman Anesthesiology Consultants
306 7th Street NE
Cullman, AL 35055


V. Greg Bouska,  [email protected]
Comprehensive Anesthesia Services
2006 Franklin Street, Suite 301
Huntsville, AL 35801

VI. Matt Sherrer, 
[email protected]
University of Alabama Birmingham

VI.  Lewis Hunt, [email protected]

Southern Perioperative Services, P.C.

VII. Glenn Woods, [email protected]
Anesthesia Associates of East Alabama
P.O. Box 627
Auburn, Alabama 36831


Founding Members:

Hiram Elliott, MD
Alfred Habeeb, MD
Alice McNeal, MD
Bryce Robinson, MD

ASSA Presidents: 

Suzanne Blaylock, M.D., 2019-2022

Aimee Walsh, M.D., 2017-2019

Blair Smith, MD, 2015-2017

Jennifer Dollar, MD, 2013-2015 

Greg Bouska, MD, 2011-2013

Abe Schuster, MD 2009-2011

Ralph Fillmore, MD 2007-2009
Ann C. Still, MD 2005-2007
Michael C. Gosney, MD 2003-2005
Jeffrey S. Plagenhoef, MD 2001-2003
Michael C. Gosney, MD 1999-2001
John Charles Spivak, MD 1997-99
Arthur M. Boudreaux, MD 1995-97
Peter Loux, DO 1993-95
Michael H. Lasecki, MD 1992-93
Dan F. Millard, MB, ChB 1991-92
Paul Elliott, MD 1990-91
Philip Hanlon, MD 1989-90
Peter Hendricks, MD 1988-89
Robert D. McKay, MD 1987-88
Robert E. Johnstone, MD 1986-87
Frederick R. Brosch, MD 1985-86
James E. Ramsey, MD 1984-85
Robert L. Reed, MD 1983-84
J. Russell Eubanks, MD 1982-83
Robert Nelson, MD 1980-81
William Fitzgerald, MD 1979-80
William D. Hughes, MD 1966-67
William P. Baston, MD 1965-66


The ASSA has a President, President-Elect, Secretary-Treasurer, and Immediate Past President who make up the Executive Committee of the Society. In addition, the Society has members from across the state who are District Directors and together with the Executive Committee comprise the Governing Body of the Society. The ASSA also has a Director to the ASA and an Alternate Director to the ASA who attend quarterly meetings of the ASA Board of Directors and report back to the Society about the activities of the ASA.




Copyright 2013, Alabama State Society of Anesthesiologists
P.O. Box 241453 | Montgomery, AL 36124
PH: (334) 954-2577 | FAX: (334) 269-5200